One of the most important and overlooked minerals today is iodine. Iodine is needed in the thyroid gland to produce thyroid hormones. However, iodine is also required for every tissue of the body! I found this out before I became pregnant with Jack. My Doctor was stressing the importance of incorporating it into my diet. The body does not make iodine, so it is essential to incorporate in your diet. If you do not have enough iodine in your body, you cannot make enough thyroid hormone. Iodine deficiency can lead to enlargement of the thyroid, hypothyroidism and to mental retardation in infants and children whose mothers were iodine deficient during pregnancy. One of the ways I incorporate is to make sure my salt has iodine. A lot of today’s salt have removed this important mineral so double check!

One of the most important and overlooked minerals today is iodine. Iodine is needed in the thyroid gland to produce thyroid hormones. However, iodine is also required for every tissue of the body! I found this out before I became pregnant with Jack. My Doctor was stressing the importance of incorporating it into my diet. The body does not make iodine, so it is essential to incorporate in your diet. If you do not have enough iodine in your body, you cannot make enough thyroid hormone. Iodine deficiency can lead to enlargement of the thyroid, hypothyroidism and to mental retardation in infants and children whose mothers were iodine deficient during pregnancy. One of the ways I incorporate is to make sure my salt has iodine. A lot of today’s salt have removed this important mineral so double check!

via Julia Bonner Fitness – http://www.facebook.com/thinkandgrowfit

Leave a Reply

