I have to admit my knee jerk reaction when dealing with pain is to want to hole up and isolate under the covers and cozy up with a bottle of wine. The loss of my companion of 15 years is so difficult and it also rouses up other memories….like the death of my brother. I’ve come a long way in my personal growth and with almost 5 years Alcohol-free, I no longer cope that way. And thank God because it only led to greater sadness. I’ve learned the importance of self care in recovery. After everything, Jack and I went to the bakery and got the biggest cupcakes they had with extra icing and enjoyed them tremendously. That was it. It will not continue into days of emotional eating. Spending time with my family, special phone calls with my best friends, support from my Beachbody family, and of course and amazing workout today and I’m feeling a little better. Some of you may wonder why I share so openly about this stuff. My Grandmother told me once that you never know what you might say that may help another person and change their life. So if I can reach only one person. then it is all worth it. I remember feeling so depressed that I thought the darkness would never lift. That deep hopelessness and dred. The life I have now, the family I have and all my blessings are because of God’s grace and following in this way of life of no alcohol and self care. It’s not easy but it’s definitely worth it.

I have to admit my knee jerk reaction when dealing with pain is to want to hole up and isolate under the covers and cozy up with a bottle of wine. The loss of my companion of 15 years is so difficult and it also rouses up other memories….like the death of my brother.

I’ve come a long way in my personal growth and with almost 5 years Alcohol-free, I no longer cope that way. And thank God because it only led to greater sadness. I’ve learned the importance of self care in recovery. After everything, Jack and I went to the bakery and got the biggest cupcakes they had with extra icing and enjoyed them tremendously. That was it. It will not continue into days of emotional eating. Spending time with my family, special phone calls with my best friends, support from my Beachbody family, and of course and amazing workout today and I’m feeling a little better.

Some of you may wonder why I share so openly about this stuff. My Grandmother told me once that you never know what you might say that may help another person and change their life. So if I can reach only one person. then it is all worth it. I remember feeling so depressed that I thought the darkness would never lift. That deep hopelessness and dred. The life I have now, the family I have and all my blessings are because of God’s grace and following in this way of life of no alcohol and self care. It’s not easy but it’s definitely worth it.

via Julia Bonner Fitness – http://www.facebook.com/thinkandgrowfit
December 05, 2016 at 04:10PM

Leave a Reply

